The Dreads of Dry Skin

Dry Skin is a bitch, no point sugar coating it. My skin is dry and dehydrated all year round, especially on my face.

Although I am not a skincare expert by any means I do have my trusty products that I rely on.

Here are some helpful posts from the real experts that might be useful too.. here and here

This one is from Caroline Hirons to distinguish between dry skin and dehydrated skin.

  1. Dull Skin – there are so many products out there to help combat this. I love a good highlighter, some of my favourites are the Topshop Glow Stick in Play Up and Mac Prep and Prime Highlight in Light Boost. Now I generally like a matte finish, I really hate looking shiny so these products are great for me because I can control where I want my glow! But if you do love an all over glow, mixing an illuminator like this one from Nars with a foundation or tinted moisturiser might give you the desired effect.
  2. Flaky Skin – I think this is my number 1 hate! I always feel like someone will comment on my dandruff-like skin but luckily I seem to have gotten this under control! For me, a big issue is how I cleanse my skin, I have to be really gentle with any cleansing/exfoliating routine so I really love the Body Shop Camomile Cleansing Butter. But if flaky skin cannot be helped, lathering up on a heavy duty moisturiser seems to do the trick for me. Old favourites like the Body Shop Vitamin E Nightcream and the Origins Drink Up Intensive Mask always come in handy – plus these both smell amazing!
  3. Rough Skin – There are many serums out there that will probably make your skin as smooth as a baby butt but a cheap alternative is Aqueous Cream. Now this may not be the most glamorous product I’ve featured, in fact it’s not glamorous at all but it really does the trick. This baby is around the £4 mark and a little goes a long way. I was originally prescribed this to reduce the roughness of my eczema but now it has become a staple in my not so beautiful beauty regime.  It is a light, non-greasy formula that can be used anywhere on your body and can even double up as a shaving cream!
  4. Redness – You may remember the post about this Clarins Serum and I mentioned there may be a follow up and although I plan to do a full review soon I will reveal that my redness has significantly reduced and has evened out my skin! But for a quick fix, I really love this Smashbox’s Photo Finish Colour Correcting Primer in green! I only had a tester of this but at soon as I come back from America I will be buying the full size. It is a really light texture and dries quite dewy which is handy for dread number 1.
  5. Patchy Make Up – So moisturising helps to avoid this but I find that comes with many applications so again if you need a quick fix, a primer might be the way to go. Although I mentioned the Smashbox one above, I don’t find that this does much to avoid my make up from clinging but I do love the Laura Mercier Foundation Primer. This just smooths over my skin and actually helps my make up last longer. I’ve also heard good reviews about the Bare Minerals Prime Time but am yet to try it, have any of you?

Of course the best thing for any dry skin traumas is to drink water, now I am guilty of not committing to this relationship but water, my bestie, I will try my hardest.

Do any of you have any tricks or tips for a dry skinned gal like me?

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I really like Paula’s Choice Skin Recovery Mask. You can even use it as a moisturizer.

Leave a Reply

